The Meme as a Medium for Cultural Messages, and the Meme as a Social Networking Medium for Archives

iSchooligans

I gained inspiration for this blog post over the past week or so while taking breaks from essay-writing and studying. I’ve grown accustomed to daily Memes popping up on my news feed on Facebook. When I first started seeing them many months ago, I’ll admit, I was uncertain as to what they were. Why were so many images being recycled with varying headlines of text imprinted on them, all in mainly the same font face? (I believe the font is called Impact…I guess Comic Sans wouldn’t have the same effect now, would it?) See Exhibit A, the “grumpy cat”, as we know him:

Image
And what was this word ‘Meme’ anyway? I had to Google it. The Wikipedia definition is as follows:

“A meme (pron.: /ˈmiːm/; meem) is “an idea, behavior or style that spreads from person to person within a culture.” A meme acts as a unit for carrying cultural ideas, symbols or…

View original post 903 more words

Leave a Reply

