Finding Family the New-Fashioned Way

DNAeXplained - Genetic Genealogy

When I first started doing genealogy, I didn’t even realize “it” had a name, or that I was doing “it.”  I am truly the accidental genealogist.  I simply wanted to find out something about my father’s family.  He died in a car accident when I was in grade school and we didn’t live anyplace close to his family.  I think the nesting instinct had set in.  I was pregnant for my second child.

I did discover some information, but that ended with the memory of older family members.  And then, my genealogy endeavors took a decade long holiday while I finished my master’s degree and other life events happened.

One day, I saw an announcement in the newspaper that the local Mormon Church was having a genealogy workshop.  They invited you to bring your sticky problem and come on by.  I took that same child with me that evening, somewhat…

View original post 607 more words

Leave a Reply

