Career Transitions In A Depressed Economy – Worth It?

Career Transitions In A Depressed Economy – Worth It?

I’m going through this as we speak. The former corporate management role I once had, is no more. While I don’t mind that, I still need a job, but who’ll hire me? I’m a minority three times over – Native American, female, middle-aged.

People have asked, “why don’t you start an 8A business??”, but what they don’t realize is, I don’t have the money to do that. I have plenty of hobbies that I could turn into a home-based business, but I don’t have the money to go without a full-time income at this point, so that idea is out.

Wouldn’t you know, the economy is still in a depression, and I refuse to believe it’s a recession – we had that before the last decade ended, and it’s much worse at this point. This economic depression might be slowly getting better, but there aren’t many places for someone my age and demographic. Or is there? What kind of career pays no attention to demographics?

I’ve decided to change careers entirely, so we’ll see where it goes. I think the key to a complete career change is to word your cover letter masterfully – pick a career you’d like, and build your past experience around that. I’m going to use my past to get into a another career altogether…I’ll let you know how it goes!

Belle

Leave a Reply

