Strange Stories, Amazing Facts

As a child, I read World Book Encyclopedias and the Guinness Book of World Records. Yes, I actually sat and read volumes as a child. I still love reading factual information, especially when it piques my curious nature. My young mind couldn’t totally grasp all the content of these books, but it was enough to set me on a continuing quest for wisdom, odd facts, and spectacular human feats. I’m content to scour books, libraries, old newspapers and microfiche…and I’ve always been this way. For whatever reason, I tend to avoid “non-fiction” books because if it’s not something that actually happened, I don’t want to know about it.

Back in the 1970’s, Reader’s Digest published a book that I consider a classic to this day: Strange Stories, Amazing Facts. The subtitle of the book reads: “Stories That are Bizarre, Unusual, Odd, Astonishing, and Often Incredible”.

The book is, and was, a favorite of mine. Another editor confesses that this book is also a favorite of hers.

Leave a Reply

