Pee Wee’s Playhouse Opening Theme (Sung By Cyndi Lauper)

Pardon the FLASHBACK – and yes, it’s pretty much a flashback, like drugs 😀

I let my son watch this show back in the day, but I’m well aware that certain parents thought it was a horrible show, addled with drug-induced references and colorful, wacky characters…but this is EXACTLY why I let my son watch it! We still reference it today – I’m not ashamed. I wish more kids and parents would watch it. I’m not sure what it inspires, but it teaches, and I’ll accept that any day.

BTW, Cyndi Lauper does a great character voice similar to Betty Boop (remember her?) for this opening theme. She used the same type for her “She’s So Unusual” album, and while kitschy, it’s brilliant. Her “normal” speaking voice is very sultry, and I’d love to hear her do more voiceover work…

Leave a Reply

